Skip to content

on the erge of a nehvous breakdown

June 9, 2010

they were all standing around my desk.
that’s not because i’m the cool kid in the office. it’s not because i’m overly magnetic or even because i have m&ms in a little cup for people to have. it’s because i’m the receptionist, and my desk is positioned in such a way that you will just end up standing at my desk if i don’t tell you where to go right away.
so when i get lonely or bored sitting at my desk i say things like, “no, craig’s in a meeting right now. you just wait right here. he shouldn’t be more than a half hour. he’ll let me know when he’s out. my name’s suzy, what’s yours?”
and it’s foolproof because if it’s someone who bores me or who i get really irritated with quickly, i can just call my reception phone from my cell phone hidden discreetly under my desk and say something like but not neccessarily “craig will see you now.”
and sometimes i get up to five people standing around my desk waiting for meetings to get out and we have a grand old time playing twenty questions and honey if you love me.

i don’t really do that.

but the point is not that.
but i can’t think of what the point was, exactly.
i think i need to stop blogging until i catch up on my sleep.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 12:35 am

    Haha, that's awesome. I'd talk to you if I came in!

  2. June 10, 2010 12:06 am

    i was a receptionist for 4-5 years at a chiropractor's office and sometimes it would get SO overwhelming having 7346546 people surrounding you, all needing something right. that. SECOND. baahh. i loved the moments where it wasn't super busy and i could actually have conversations with people. or plan pranks on the doctors. you know, important things.

  3. June 9, 2010 10:25 pm

    that's hilarious!
    I love 20 questions.

  4. June 9, 2010 9:47 pm

    I remember when I was a receptionist I would sit at my desk and plan out an escape route in case someone was to come in with a gun. Kind of crazy. I had an emergency button under my desk. And a million scary parents coming through the door. That was a fun job. ha!

  5. June 9, 2010 9:02 pm

    I'm also a receptionist. i know the feeling. i also do customer service. i really know the feeling. bless your soul.

    where do you work?

Leave a Reply

