Skip to content

my pinched creative nerve

May 4, 2011

i’ve had nothing to say lately. which is funny, because it’s not like i’ve been bored. it’s not like i haven’t been thinking. it’s not like nothing has been happening.

i suppose the nerve or whatever it is that goes from the blogging part of my brain to my fingers was maybe pinched because i slept on it funny?

anyway, i saw this this morning on the youtube and now feel a very familiar swell in the pit of my stomach that is part too-much-brekkie and part i-so-wish-i’d-thought-of-that.

and my pinched creative nerve makes me cringe even more in light of the fact that, even if it were fully operative, it could never have thought of or carried out this event.

mainly because it’s very strange and mostly because i don’t have an apartment building; my house only has one window on each side, vastly diminishing the desired effect of the whole hootenanny.

RATS RATS RATS.

maybe for five minutes please pretend that this was my idea and my execution and marvel at my creative abilities.

i am the coolest ever.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2011 10:50 pm

    You ARE the coolest ever.

    ps. I like your ideas even better.

  2. Shelley permalink
    May 5, 2011 12:39 am

    That’s very cool….

    • May 5, 2011 8:29 am

      why thank you. i thought of it and orchestrated the whole thing in the apartment building i own downtown. {…}

  3. May 4, 2011 8:15 pm

    Dude, what WAS that?? Was that some band’s awesome music video, or was it really a Scrabble commercial? Cause if it was a commercial, that would be cooler. Either way, pretty sure that song will be stuck in my head for a while.

    • May 5, 2011 8:30 am

      scrabble commercial. the song, apparently, was written FOR the commercial, so i can’t find it anywhere to download. rats.
      i mean…i wrote it. for my commercial that i made.

  4. May 4, 2011 12:47 pm

    you title hurt me right now! LOL.
    I really do have a pinched nerve!
    but that is a very creative way to describe writers block. Makes perfect sense!
    and that is a crazy video! seriously!

    • May 5, 2011 8:30 am

      aw shucks! i hope your pinched nerve feels better. 🙂 do those things go away by themselves?

      • May 11, 2011 3:30 pm

        nope. I’ve been having to go to a chiropractor. She moves things around and rubs the crap out of my muscles. Things are much better now though. It has lossened up a ton and I have less inflammation in my back now.

        • May 11, 2011 9:59 pm

          ugh. well i’m glad it’s getting better–but NO FUN to begin with. hope it goes away completely. 🙂

  5. May 4, 2011 11:48 am

    That was AMAZING. So crazy… wish I could have seen it in person! 😀 (Good idea, Suzy! ;P )

    • May 5, 2011 8:31 am

      thanks. i’m a genius i guess. next time i do something like this, i’ll let you know beforehand so you can fly up for it.

  6. May 4, 2011 9:54 am

    Well done on the video, you are a creative mastermind! 🙂 I’ve been in the same creative funk lately. As soon as I try to write something my brain freezes and refuses to spit out any ideas. It is incredibly frustrating.

    • May 5, 2011 8:32 am

      isn’t it awful? and the rest of the world goes on being creative while i’m stuck in this proverbial iceblock. booooo.

  7. May 4, 2011 9:35 am

    Trippy! And so cool. I heard recently that there’s a creativity test that asks questions like “how many things can you do with a paper clip?” Most people tested get pretty poor marks, but young kids and creative genius people rock it because they ask questions like, “well, can the paperclip be 90 feet tall and made of rubber?”

    All this to say that the folks in Scrabble’s publicity department probably rocked that test.

    • May 5, 2011 8:32 am

      they probably did. i’d like to go live among the people of the Scrabble publicity department. think it’d rub off on me?

Leave a comment